Discuss Tilers deserve more credit in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

As a plumber & Electician by trade, most guys on this forum may consider me the enemy. However, please bear in mind that most of my work is bathroom fitting and that tiling takes up about 50% of my work.
If it wasn't for the tiling, my installations would look mediocre and would not give me the appreciation I receive from customers.
Without good tiling my bathroom installations would look bad. So seeing other blogs about how much to charge per sqm makes me cringe that customers will overlook a great tiler who knows what he's talking about, based on price.
My only advice on pricing jobs is to show your ability to your customers; having an ipad with previous work will help, and learn how to promote your expertise.

Last edited by a moderator:

John Benton

TF
Arms
Leeds
Well anybody can tile can't they!!!

That's what most people think surely. They don't think anything about paying £60 for a plumber to stop a leak or a spark to change a faulty socket, but charge a customer £60 for replacing a broken tile and you're a rip-off merchant.

Problem is tiling is cosmetic and a broken tile doesn't stop the tiles from 'working', whereas a leak will cause a lot more than £60 worth of damage, and a blown fuse will stop them watching their £1500 60" telly that they didn't mind paying a fortune for!!!

I quoted a bathroom at just over £800 a while since to tile it for a work colleague of my wife. She said she didn't want to pay that much but she was more than happy the following week to spend £650 on a handbag.

Work that one out then!!!

Well anybody can tile can't they!!!

That's what most people think surely. They don't think anything about paying £60 for a plumber to stop a leak or a spark to change a faulty socket, but charge a customer £60 for replacing a broken tile and you're a rip-off merchant.