Discuss Tiling's getting harder in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Andy Allen

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Gloucester
I'm fairly new to the trade and think I do a good job but I seem to be too slow, I also wonder if I'm too fussy over lippage but with tiles like this I think you really have to be,

I'm begining to wonder if I'll ever speed up :thumbsdown:,...............did anyone else think this when they first started

speed will come with time......how many m2 of the 500x500 tiles were you fixing per day?

S

SRFredrick

every trade moans about the one that goes before. Plasterers moan about chippies setting floor joists for the floor boards and not the ceiling, sparkies moan about plasterers filling in back boxes, plasterers moan about brickies not building walls square and so it goes on.

The more I learn about tiling the more I realise that it is important to be able to plaster well to be able to flatten surfaces prior to tiling. At least that is one thing I can do already. Just need to learn the tiling bit now!

4x4

Hi everyone thanks for all the advice, just got in from the said job, I'm relaying a kitchen floor in exactly the same tiles as before, as customer took the floor up because they had a flood and were never happy with the previous job anyway, she said the last tiler had done the job in 2 days, well I'm still about 2 or 3 days days away from finishing :yikes: , its diamond pattern by the way and its sure throwing up some interesting shape cuts in certain places! anyway the customer said today that they can't believe how much better the tiling looks already :smilewinkgrin: I said thanks very much and apoligised for being a bit slow but they and thanked me for taking my time and producing a good job !!!.........but of course I still need to get quicker :thumbsup:

D

doug boardley