Discuss Too Scared To Go Alone, Advice Please in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

mattle40

Hi all, not a big poster on here but have my spells

Basically, I'm 27 and I've been tiling for 7-8 years. I was offered the opportunity to join a plumbing and heating firm 2.5 years ago and re train as a plumber and eventually a gas engineer
I took the job and a hefty wage drop and have been doing all their tiling work for a pittance.
I've now just completed the plumbing qualification and been told by my employer they don't need a gas engineer so aren't willing to carry on my college.
(I only joined for gas) I'm on minimum wage and he won't increase it.
I'm very low on funds now due to the huge wage drop (lost around £15-£20k in last two years with prospect of getting gas) so can't really afford to invest in myself, I.e buy a van and go it alone.

Now I've been chewed up and spat out basically and really want to start making something of myself, I know I made a huge mistake in joining these guys, it would have been worth it for gas but not to end here!

I'd just like to hear from people what they would do in my situation. Ideally I want to go self employed bathroom fitting and all the rest but after this mistake I really can't make another (wife and mortgage to look after)

Thanks all.

O

Old Mod

I've been in a similar position, the way I handled it was to get my own work thro speaking to anyone and everyone I came across In the building game.
Spoke with joiners (ouch) electricians (eewww) anyone who would listen, jobs can come from the unlikeliest of leads.
Did them In my spare time, eve's and weekends.
Eventually I had enough contacts and phone calls to step away!
It certainly wasn't easy by a long shot, family hated it, I hated it, but it was a necessary evil which became good in the end.
Not saying it should be your choice either, just telling you what I did.