Discuss Training where's best? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

JLM Tiling

Hello mucker and welcome to the forum!! I was in the same boat as you about a year ago, was a stonemason and had done my five years at college doing wet trades so I had done a bit of tiling and had enjoyed it. Anyways after one too many freezing cold winters in the middle of a field with a pile of rocks and a drawing i though to myself hey there's gotta be more to life than this! And as a typical builder I thought tiling was easy! So so wrong! But as a venture that one can fairly simply get set up as a one man band it seemed a good choice. Anyways as for training I was with Diamond but two weeks in we turned up on monday morning to find the guy had packed up shop and done a runner! With a couple of grand of my money! That was a bad morning even by monday standards! Anyways got on the phone to Able Skills. They were top about the whole situation and let me do the last four weeks of the six week course in fact i was in their accomodation that very night and in the workroom tuesday morning. They are very good, no doubt about it. It's sometimes hard to get as much face time with Max and Terry the two instructors because it is quite busy but there's a reason why they're busy! Its very go go go with the stuff you do and I felt like I was getting to try everything I needed to. I left the place feeling incredibly confident with myself and my skills and I felt like I knew everything! Then I checked this site out and realised that on the theory side I knew about 5%! They do focus on the hand skills which makes sense, you can learn the theory in your own time. Personally I'd recommend the six week course, you cover everything and it'll take you that long to get up to speed with your hand skills. and you need to be good before you start charging lets face it. So yeah check them out, like I said top company, top instructors and the tea and coffee is free! And seriously get into readin