Discuss Uh oh he's a plumber!!! in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

K

Kyle87

Hi everyone!!

I'm hoping I can get a warm.......ish welcome here. I'm a plumber and can't get away from tiling so I'm here to pick up tips from those who know the ins and outs of sticking bits of pottery to walls ;)

im not trying to steal jobs from tilers, I have actually been telling my customers to get a tiler in but they insist they want one man to do the entire job on a bathroom install.

If I can answer any plumbing questions then feel free to ask.

K

Kyle87

Yea that's the kind of things I like to hear. I've explained to my customers that I am not a tiler. It will take me longer than a tiler but I won't charge for the extra day or two because of my inexperience. I'm definitely a meticulous worker. Sometimes spend too long making things look right. Gets a bit sad when I take my time making pipework look great then I put the floorboards back over it.

Welcome,

if the customers don't want to find a Tiler - why don't you??
Have you not crossed paths with any tilers on any jobs so far?
Find a good local guy, hopefully someone good and trustworthy, and you can both bounce work off each other.
You can concentrate on the plumbing, manage the job, make a cut from the tiling, and there's less pressure for you..
That way everyone's happy??

K

Kyle87

Welcome,

if the customers don't want to find a Tiler - why don't you??
Have you not crossed paths with any tilers on any jobs so far?
Find a good local guy, hopefully someone good and trustworthy, and you can both bounce work off each other.
You can concentrate on the plumbing, manage the job, make a cut from the tiling, and there's less pressure for you..
That way everyone's happy??

Unfortunately the tilers I've crossed paths with so far have either let the customers down or not been worth what they paid.

This is no reflection on tilers in general, just the couple I've come across.