UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Under floor tile/linolium heating in wetroom in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

D

david f

Hi. Novice here. Need to know what needs to be water-sealed as it's an old house. I went to a DIY store today to get some idea of what the work involves/costs. Need to repair dampness caused by leaking underfloor pipe in cellar- damaged area includes base of wetroom wall(other side from wetroom), the floor of the wetroom (which already has underfloor water heating) , plus the hallway floor (adjacent to the wet room). Altogether counting the length of the wetroom and the hallway is 8 metres and about 2 meters wide.

So the insurance will pay 70% of the water damage and replace like for like. I have linoleum on all cellar floors - but am considering spending some extra cash to get electric underfloor heating to cover whole area. I see that i can use tiles, linolium or laminate to cover. Laminate would be simplest as Insurance will pay for it and laying it. I would need to get the electric cables done before it is laid.

So here's the question. The person in the DIY said that i would need to get the walls in the hallway covered in some water resistand solution. Also in the shower room I'd need to take all the tiles off and do the water sealing there too (this hasn't been done previously afaik).I also have to have the floor in wetroom dug up as a floor drain needs replacing and an underfloor pipe from the washing machine to the wetroom floor drain passes through the existing underfloor water heating system. So that means also breaking that existing underfloor heating in order fix the pipe/drain and put in electric heating cables.