Discuss Uneven Floor in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

M

Monkey Wrench

I'm a Plumber by trade but will often do a bit of tiling as part of a bathroom install when required. I'm currently working on a job in a 2m x 2.25m bathroom which requires me to install an 800 x 1700 floor mounted shower tray and tile approximately the remaining floor (just over 3 metres) with 500 x 300 porcelain tiles. I've tiled a number of floors before without a problem but this particular one is another matter.

The building is a converted barn that was totally gutted and converted into a house about 12 years ago and the flooring material is T&G chipboard flooring. The problem is that the floor drops about 23mm along the 2 metre length which is also the same length along which the floor mounted shower tray is to be mounted. The floor is also uneven along the 2.25 metre length but not nearly so extreme. Levelling the shower tray in itself is going to be a major problem but then, once its level, there's the problem of tiling. If I level the tray but follow the fall when tiling, the shower tray will appear higher one side than the other (along the length). Additionally, trying to tile such an uneven floor with such large tiles seems like a recipe for disaster. Is the only real solution to rip up the floor and start again or can anyone please recommend another solution ?

Thank you in advance for any helpful advice.

B

Bubblecraft

Thank you very much for the advice Bubblecraft.

Is levelling joists just a matter of fixing appropriate size wood shims along the top ? The other problem is the door threshold is on the "low" side of the 2 metre length so any levelling will automatically raise the door threshold accordingly (probably 23mm in this case plus the Hardiebacker and tile/adhesive).

Thanks again.