Discuss Using SLC to achieve 8mm depth in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

The Legend; Phil Hobson RIP

This is the way I level slc runners in to laser then flood:thumbsup:

Attachments

• prep1.jpg
    91.3 KB · Views: 121
  • prep2.jpg
    77.1 KB · Views: 86
  • prep3.jpg
    70.2 KB · Views: 103
  • IMGP0130.JPG
    74.4 KB · Views: 104
  • IMGP0132.JPG
    77.9 KB · Views: 110
P

paul78

Cornish Crofter - Like u I was a SLC novice until fairly recently. Last week I SLC'd 16 sq m in an hour, 3mm depth over UFH. Some things to consider:

- Most SLC's work best at 4 litres water per 20kg bag. However do consider that some special types do need less water.
- Make sure the central heatiung has been off for several hours and stays off until slc has set. If you dont the slc will get hairline cracks.
- Before starting get bucket loads of water ready at your mixing area - if you dont have an electric plaster/adhesive mixer - now is the time to buy one.
- Make sure your mixing bucket can mix and carry 20kg of slc and 4 litres of water - it is quite heavy and the bucket needs to handle the weight.
- A plastic spiked roller really helps, but is not essential - a basic plasterers trowel will do a very good professional finish - J trowel (walking stick strokes) the slc like u would multi-finish plaster.
- Plan how u will work - start at one corner and zig-zig back to your finish point (usually the door)
- Dont play with the mix. Pour a bit. Trowel it. Pour some more. Trowel it. Trowel to your depth - a well mixed slc is a piece of piece to work.
- Dont stop for a *** break. Keep goin until you finish.
- You have about 20 minutes with most mixes before they start to distort if you trowel around them. Rermember that as you move across the room. The best finishes come from steadily moving back and forth across the room and adding new slc to already laid slc that is less than 20 mins old.