UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Water sipping through the grout? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

A

Alphab

Hi all,
Complete newbie here so I apologise if this is a basic question, but I hope you guys can help me out.

I've bought a flat a few months ago, and there are quite a few things done badly in there.
I have noticed that the tiles in the shower seems to have some kind of water leaking into them. I though tiles where hemetic, but there is a darker shade that is appearing under their surface, most often but not always starting from the edges of the tiles.

Would you know what is causing this?

How do I stop it spreading, reoccurring and and how do I remove these traces?

Tiles1opt.jpg tiles2opt.jpg tilesOpt3.jpg

Thanks a lot in advance for your help.

A

Alphab

Hi, thanks for your answers.

To whitebeam: am not sure what you mean by "background". If it's what's been put behind the tiles, I don't know. If it's the story of our flat here it goes...
This is a old Victorian house that has been converted into two separate flat. We have already seen many occasion where the work has been done very badly, so I wouldn't be surprised if the bathroom hadn't been done properly or with the wrong type of materials. Looking around in the bathroom, there are many cracks in many places in the grout. It is possible they are due to a structure issue with the chimney pushing this wall. (we have some cracks in other rooms too).

So I've googled regrouting and it seems like something I could do myself. I get that that might crack again in the future but that should save me a few years until we can address the structural issue. Is there a kind of grout I could use that would somehow stretch and not crack for such small movement? I presume I should also buy waterproof grout?