Discuss Wet room virgin - confused!!! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

TrustNige

Hi Guys
I'm a plumber in North Yorkshire looking at my first wet-room. I've been doing some homework on here - thanks guys, just amazing by the way - but I think i may have read too much. I'm confused by the wide array of materials available and I wondered if anyone would be kind enough to help me write a shopping list filled with their favourites.

Tell me I'm being lazy, tell me to figure it out for myself, or just give me a leg up and I'd be really grateful.

The existing bathroom is tiles over plasterboard and studwork one side, brick and plaster the other, suspended wood floor in good condition. My customer is elderly and looking to live independently at home for as long as possible, which is why a wetroom is the way to go.

I'm expecting to find the walls damaged once existing tiles are removed to some extent but nothing too serious as the house is 30 years old and in good condition.

I'd like a recipe for a bombproof wet room, idiot proof would also be good. Your recommended suppliers (national) would also be good.

Elements
Tile backer boards & fixings
UFH & leveling compound
Sealing system/tanking system
Former tray and waste (looking at 750-800 x min 1200, center waste to one end)
Tile adhesive
Non-slip tiles

thank you for reading this and thanks in advance for anyone kind enough to reply with their favorite solution.

Nigel

R

Rich