Discuss Which lower price snap cutter? in the Tile Cutters (Manual & Wet Cutters) area at TilersForums.com.

Surrey
Hi there, first post and been browsing for a bit before posting and mightily impressed with the wealth of experience here - especially in the 'show us your work' thread.

I'm a builder and get tiling to do on some jobs, (bathrooms etc) and often use a tiler but lately have been doing more of it myself when he's not available.

I'm fed up with budget cutters, they're basically a waste of time so would like some advice on the next level. I'm not planning on spending bundles on the latest super duper cutter as I don't really need one, my jobs tend to be just ordinary ceramic wall and floor tiles and not usually very big - under 450mm and usually 300mm-350mm.

So, Rubi Star 50N Plus or Sigma 2G? any other suggestions in the sub £100 price range? TIA.

Surrey
If you appreciate long lasting tools then Sigma all day, if you just want a cutter that will do the job then Sigma again. :thumbsup:

Are the lower price cutters accurate? the low price cutters I've been using don't always cut square when you place the tile up against the stop - the wheels wander a bit too sometimes giving lovely banana cuts :mad2:

Wouldn't expect this to be such a problem with a brand like Sigma or Rubi.

Surrey
Well in the end I decided to go with the Rubi Star 50N Plus from Screwfix, this choice was made because the tiles I'm currently using are 330mm and the Sigma only goes to 370mm, ok for this job but you can bet the next job they would have been bigger and wouldn't fit the little Sigma. I know if a job comes up with tiles bigger than the Rubi can handle I'll have to buy another, that will have to probably be in part factored into the cost of the job.

I can't believe the difference in the Rubi cutter compared to the cheapo cutters I've been using - everything has been effortless, including taking small edge strips off and every cut has been dead straight.