Search the forum,

Discuss Natural stone border tiles - advice needed in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

MattW

Hi All,
I'm about to start a (free - the joys of working for family!) bathroom job for my sister in law.

It's going to be 8mm gloss white ceramics and she's got some natural stone border tiles - these:

IMAG0134.jpg

I've never worked with this type of border tile before and I could use some advice...

As they're little stone slips on a mesh, they have a bit of variation in size and look like they'll be a right pain to fix. She wants a full tile above the bath, followed by a border, another full tile and and then another border. When I've done this type of thing before, I've started with a batten slightly less than a tile above the bath (allowing for a cut down to the bath) and would then fix the border onto the batten and work up from there.

With these borders being a bit inconsistent in size, I'm not so sure - would I be better starting with the tile above the border and then work down to the bath with the border and tile?

Another concern is grouting. The borders are a mixture of stone, some with a rough textured surface and are labelled as being sealed. Is there any special technique for grouting this type of tile and cleaning up the textured surface?

I'm intending to use Mapei Keraflex with an 8mm trowel (2mm spacers) and a Mapei white grout (not chosen yet) - I'm not the fastest so need something with a decent pot life :)

Any advice about workflow and grouting would be very much appreciated.

thanks
Matt

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Staffordshire, UK
I would batten below the tile that is above the first border. So then you're working from the bath afterwards with the field tile, then the other border. It might even be worth using a batten above both borders and tiling the field tiles first leaving just the borders to do and the tile above the bath.