Discuss adding an employee part time in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

kilty55

TF
Arms
edinburgh
wondered if you guys /gals couyld help me on this one

my partner currently works part time in the care sector and the shifts do not suit us with the kids

im expecting to be taking on much more work with the plastering under my belt this year so if i paid the wife a weekly part time wage which equalled her wage at her work what would i have to do/change to my current setup as im a sole trader

if i have an employee who was doing paperwprk and typing up quotes etc do i need anything in place paperwork wise and health and safety wise ?

any advice appreciated

A

Aston

if i were you jaime i wouldnt do what your suggesting until the plastering work is coming in you can plaster to a good standard.
your wife has a job and a guranteed wage even if the hours are not what you like and that is a nice position to be in, in this current climate.

i know your ambitious and its the only way to get on but, id give it another 6 months to a year and then make the employment changes if i were you.

ed

A

Alberta Stone

I have had employees in the past and will never do it again.
This is why.
Paperwork and gov't payments, etc, etc, etc, ad nauseum.
It is far cheaper to establish someone as a registered business entity, such as a limited company or an incorporation and then any business relationship you have with them is straight pay with no paperwork or other issues.
They look after their own books and taxes and you don't have to for them and withhold their money they worked for.
And they can enjoy the many corporate loopholes to keep the money in their pockets working for them.
Better to do it that way or work with people who already are set up that way.
Forget being a "sole proprietor" as that is the worst method to employ.
Incorporate your business entity and let it carry the numbers around, it is your strawman that you then use to interface with everything.