UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Aqua Dec installation and sub-floor advice in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

jordelver

Hi,
I'm a newbie DIYer and probably in way over my head. There is no turning back. There may be tears :)

I am going to be installing an Aqua Dec in my bathroom. The whole of the floor including (obviously) the Aqua Dec are going to be tiled. Large tiles for most of the floor with smaller (textured) mosaics for the shower area.

The bathroom is currently all timber floorboards - 22mm thick. The Aqua Dec is also 22mm thick, however I'm also going to be installing underfloor heating (Devimat) and I was going to lay an insulation board of some type to a) insulate the floor for the heating, and b) create a nice flat surface to tile onto.

So, by the time I add on the thickness of the insulation board and tiles, either the Aqua Dec is going to have to be made higher, or the rest of the floor lower or else I'm going to be going up a step to get into the bathroom.

Given this, what would be the best course of action? I could remove floorboards, put down ply and an insulation board with the hope I can find those materials in the correct thicknesses. Would that be strong enough?

Thanks for any advice you can give.

Cheers,
Jordan

J

jordelver

Thanks for reply Dave. Yeah, I could call them but I don't want to mess them about as I'm planning on doing this myself.

It's not the Aqua Dec I'm worried about (at this point anyway!) it's getting the heights right. There are loads of different products out there and trying to pick the right one can be daunting :) I'm confident I'll be able to put down something new, just wondered what you guys would use?

W

wetdec

Hi Jordan, got your pm at last :)

Ok from what you say you have :

22mm of chip board existing