Discuss Chipboard floor in bathroom - best way forward? in the Bathroom Tiling Advice area at TilersForums.com.

L

Locoblade

Hi All

Im a newbie to DIY tiling and need some advice please. :)

We've recently re-fitted our bathroom and Im not onto the tiling stage. Ive done most of the walls and am now onto the floor. The issue I have is that the floor is 20mm tongue & groove chipboard, which in my ignorance looked nice and flat and so I thought would be a good base to tile to having screwed it down solidly and sealed it. I did a bit of a search on here looking for adhesive recommendations though and stumbled across several threads saying that chipboard is actually one of the worst things to tile to (great!). For reference the area being tiled isn't huge, about 6m2, sitting on 8" joists and I'm tiling with 30cm x 30cm ceramic tiles.

So, given that tiling straight onto the chipboard seems to be a no-no(?), my options seem to be either to rip up the chipboard and put ply in its place which would be a pain and relatively expensive, or to overlay the existing chipboard with thin ply. The second option seems easiest on the face of it, the problems are a small step into the bathroom which isnt desirable, and the bath height would be wrong as its already been set so the side panel sits correctly onto the tile base, adding ply would mean chopping the bath side panel down a bit (which I'd rather not do) or raising the bath which is not an option as it's already siliconed in place and tiled down to.

Are there any other options? I realise in hindsight I should have addressed the floor issue before any tiling etc took place, but its a bit late now unfortunately.

thanks
Chris

D

diamondtiling

Hi Locoblade welcome to the forums :welcome::welcome: