UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Ensuite revamp suggestions and photo diary...... starting from scratch! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Q

Qwerty

Hi folks, I joined the forum a few days ago (and introduced myself in the relevant thread) as I need as much advice and suggestions as possible. I am new to all of this tiling business. I am a competent diy’er aside!

I live in a 3 bed 1960's bungalow in Wimborne, Dorset which I am slowly renovating to a more modern spec. I am starting with our en suite. Its not that big, only measuring 1.5m x 2.5m. I have had my plasterer round and the ceiling has been skimmed.

As you can see from the photos of how the ensuite was, its dated and needed ripping out as the shower tray had been leaking ever since the previous owner fitted it 11 years ago which has caused extensive damage to my hallway. Apologies for the graffiti on the walls, I was trying to show my wife how the new layout would be.

I need as many suggestions from you all as possible. I hope to keep a photo diary going (on this post if the mods are ok with that). I have numbered my spec's and questions so they are easier for you all to answer.

Here go's with my spec-
1. Solid (uninsulated) concrete floor which is level
2. Solid wall on right and at end - stud wall at door/ shower end and whole of left wall. Solid wall is plastered (see pics)
3. I want travatine wall and floor
4. I want underfloor heating (150w)
5. I already have Homelux matting for tanking shower area (2 wall rolls, 1 floor roll and joint roll)
6. I am fitting Purity toliet and Uplift sink (both from B&Q) with square trap and tap designs. Also fitting large chrome towel warmer
7. I have purchased a new Merlyn offset quadrant shower enclosure and tray