Discuss Former nett students in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

S

Stevejones81

I am going to train with Darren some time in the near future to hopefully change careers and start my own tiling business. I would like to hear from any of his former students who had no previous tiling experience and started a business soon after completing the course. How prepared we're you? How difficult was it to get up and running? What would you do differently if you could? Thanks to anyone who can help.

beanz

TF
Berkshire
I had no previous tiling experience, and as good as the course was (you do learn a lot, and there is a lot of useful info), don't think you'll be starting up on your own straight after doing a week... The real world is much harder, with sooo many things to learn! I was lucky, and got in with a local bathroom/kitchen fitter. I'm still learning, 4 years later (it never stops lol!), but happy doing my own jobs as well now... If you get in with someone that tiles full time, you'll get there much quicker though.

Good luck with it though :thumbsup:

B

bugs183

I learnt on the job from my dad, but the advise i would give is be on top of your bookwork from day 1.
If you slip behind with invoices and paperwork it's a pain to catch up, file paperwork as soon as you can and it's all quite easy, but no.1 save your tax, put 20-25 of every invoice away in another account, that way you'll always be up to date with your tax. Have the money saved and it won't feel as painful, plus you should have a bit spare.
I always invested mine in the pub and once you slip behind it's a real pig to catchup.

D

Dale44