UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Grout colour for floors in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

michcosg

Hi All

I am a plumber but I commissioned an excellent tiler to tile a bathroom wall and floor for me. The tiles in both areas were a sort of light brown with the floor tiles being a slightly darker shade of brown. Anyway the colour of the grout used on the wall tiles was white whilst the colour on the floor was grey. I did question my tiler about this but he replied saying, that white floor grout would get dirty anyway so it is better to use grey. No grout colour was explicitly specified and he didn't suggest I consult with client. Anyway she is very upset about it and can't understand what we were thinking. She considers the grey grout to clash with the white grout on the walls and is not now willing to pay for the job.

My tiler is currently away at the moment but I think he will respond. However I guess I could do with some second opinions. I appreciate I have to take ultimate responsibility and I accept we both have to take responsibility for what perhaps was a poor judgement. However I would hold him somewhat more responsible since he is the tiler. The rest of the work seems great to me.

That said was there some merit in suggesting a grey grout? How difficult now will it be to change it? (small bathroom and WC floors 2.5m square on fitted ply using a Bal Superflex grout and Bal fast setting flexible floor adhesive) Suggestions appreciated!

michcosg

B

bugs183

Mmmm tricky one.
In my opinion i think the tiler, maybe in retrospect should have asked what colour grout are you thinking of having, but i can't see why the choice is such a problem as this would be what the majority of customers and tilers would go for.