Discuss Hello everybody..... great forum ! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

W

wobbin

Hi all,

Newbie here who hasn't done much tiling in the past. I'm more comfortable with plumbing & electrics if I'm honest.

I started off doing my bathroom floor a few years ago and was never really happy with the finish, not least because I left the spacers in place as the adhesive dried off and they were so big the grout failed to cover them fully in some spots. Not good when you're sat on 'the throne' and you are reminded on a daily basis !

I watched a professional doing my conservatory floor and noted that he was using the spacers like pegs and taking them out before everything had set off, so that's what I do now and i'm pleased with the results so far since then.

The bathroom is now undergoing a total refit now - I've stripped the walls back to brick as the old tiles didn't want to come off without most of the plaster, and replaced the old floorboards with 18mm marine ply. Plasterer has done the walls for me, and I've just finished the floor tiling. I've ditched the old (leaking) shower and tray and I'm going to fit an L shape bath with a power mixer shower instead.

Photo of my latest efforts is attached.... I know that I should have really split the tiles across the width of the room in order to give an equal part tile either side, but as there's an awkward change of level between the landing and the bathroom floors I thought that the bond would be stronger with full tiles in the doorway. Anyway, I'm happy and more importantly so is the missus !

Here's to learning more from you guys :)

Cheers
Robin
IMAG0075.jpg

Reply to Hello everybody..... great forum ! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com

Subscribe to Tilers Forums

There are similar tiling threads here

Hi, i'm undertaking all of the tiling in our project. I have two different types of 600mm tiles...
Replies
Views