Discuss Hi All, newbie about to tile an en-suite... in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

milesd

Hi All

From a complete newbie to tiling :lol:

SWMBO has decreed that the en-suite needs to be tiled. House in question was built in 2000 and en-suite is partially tiled (shower area and splash back around sink). Having never tiled before I thought it'd be a good idea to join this site :welcome:

Now some questions:

1. Are there any tricks to removing tiles from skim plasterboard? When tiles are removed if the plasterboard is damaged in any way how best to treat prior to fixing tiles?
  2. The tiles we've gone for 330 x 600 x 9.5. What's the best adhesive to use to fix them?
  3. Is it best to tile everything first and then do the grouting?

I'm sure I'll have more questions as time goes on. Any answers to the above questions, advice and pointers on where to get knowledge much appreciated.

Thanks

1. Are there any tricks to removing tiles from skim plasterboard? When tiles are removed if the plasterboard is damaged in any way how best to treat prior to fixing tiles?
  2. The tiles we've gone for 330 x 600 x 9.5. What's the best adhesive to use to fix them?
  3. Is it best to tile everything first and then do the grouting?

Hi and welcome.

1) If all your walls are skimmed plasterboard then your going to be borderline to overweight for your tiles, you'll need to either strip the skim off or overboard or reboard, stripping the skim off could / will damage the board, can you overboard or reboard ?

2) Depending on your speed you could use either a rapid set flexible powder adhesive, or a standard set flexible adhesive if your not confident, this will give you a longer working time.

3) Depending on the area and your confidence, maybe do one wall at a time if your worried.

Hope that helps.

This link will give you an idea of weights and surfaces

EDIT and as GRR says, let us know what tile type your going with, ceramic, porcelain or other.