Discuss Hi to all, in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

smartv11

Wow, such a quick reply! and thanks
I was very careful to say a builder layed the tiles and not a tiler. He has done a good job of our kitchen up to this. we had the kitchen / dining wall removed to form kitchen diner of 30m2 and chose a 3 tile pattern (45X45, 30x30, 15X15),the floor was leveled, on one side.
Yes I agree no lips, what should we do.??? the builder 'left' the this morning as he said its acceptable and we said not. is their a tiling abitrator, 3rd party we can use to resolve
- I'm in Kent

D

Deleted member 9966

If Del is correct with his British Standards for lippage tolerances (I am not a pro tiler so cannot comment and would seek pro tilers confirmation on this) then you need to let us know how wide the grout joints on the floor are. The minimum grout width for a floor is 3mm.

If you're unhappy with the work, you need to try and resolve this with your builder by giving him the chance to address your concerns and rectify the situation. If your builder won't return to address your concerns, you need to put your concerns in writing to him. There is an independent body, TTA, who can independently assess the work that has been done by way of an inspection and report, but you're looking at a cost of around £700 for this. Alternatively, you could source a tiler who is unconnected with the job to come and assess your concerns and provide a report directly without having to involve the TTA and this could be done for a fee you agree directly with the tiler.

If you are unhappy with the work done and would like a second opinion as to whether your concerns should be taken seriously, this forum has a number of professional tilers based in Kent who may be able to give the job a look over with you.

S

smartv11

Tile lip - understanding British Standards