Discuss I need advice please in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

E

emm77

Hi, I'm new to this and this is my first post! So hello!!

I bought some lovely glass mosaic tiles for my kitchen splash back. They are not clear glass, the colour is all the way through the tiles if you know what I mean!

Anyway as my partner passed away recently I'm having to do some DIY jobs myself, to save money as I want to sell my house, as quickly and cheaply as possible..

My splash back now is ceramic tiles which were already painted when we moved in some years ago, it is now stained and looks unsightly. I have bought unibond wall tile multi purpose all in one adhesive and grout in ice white, and also the same make and colour grout

The paint on the tiles is not peeling off anywhere so could i tile over this? Any other advice would be appreciated.

Thank you
:smilewinkgrin:

A

AMtek

Tile on tile is not a good idea especially if they are painted. I would rip them off and start again but bare in mind that the plaster or plasterboard behind could be shot and need attention. Have the tiles got a backing on them or are they just coloured glass without a backing? if they have no backing you will need to skim the back of each tile with adhesive to make sure that they all look the same colour when finished. In all honest the adhesive and grout is not the best but will probably do the job for a splashback as long as it is suitable for glass tiles. How will you be cutting them as glass can chip badly

E

emm77