Currently reading:
Just saying hi and a little history...

Discuss Just saying hi and a little history... in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

F

fulabeer

Hi guys/girls...
Just a quick post to say hello as i think it rude not to, me being new here etc.
Ok, it's not a quick post, so get a cup of tea ready!:lol:

I'm not a tiler as such, but i suppose 30+ full bathrooms and 20 kitchen floors and splash-backs means i'm not really a newbie either! LOL...
I started like many just tiling my own house, and then onto family and friends.
I was working as a signaller on the railways before deciding shift work wasn't good for my health.
I trained plumbing(between shifts) for over two years before finally handing in my notice.
I started property developing and realised that all my houses would need plumbing of some sort. (bathroom/kitchen/central heating etc)
I was doing quite well, filling in gaps between properties with a bit of plumbing/tiling.
When the property boom went bust, i was fortunate to have something to fall back on.

Once word got round that i was plumbing full time, the work flowed.
I only do gas work/boilers when i'm with my mentor as i haven't taken my Gas Safe course yet.
I started to take on more and more bathrooms.
At first, i only did the plumbing, but after seeing the state of some of the work of so called "Tilers" i started to do the whole bathroom/kitchen install.
I will admit that i was slow, and i sometimes backed myself into a corner.
My main problem was not measuring and setting/laying out the tile pattern first.
This meant i would start whole walls/floors again if i had too.
My attitude was that if it wasn't perfect, it had to go.
These delays sometimes meant i didn't earn much money, but at least the customers were very happy.
Slowly but surely, my speed improved and my (better) pre-planning meant less mistakes.
Pre-planning is everything, and having a plasterer on call is a blessing!