Discuss Kitchen/Diner Floor tiling. in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

A

Azazel

Hi all,

Im a complete novice when it comes to tiling so i hope im not being too stupid.
Im about to start tiling my new kitchen floor using 450 x 750 porcelin tiles. Ive an area of about 30m2 to tile and its onto a concrete screed with under floor heating. Just wondering what adhesive i should use?/what thickness it should be applied?/should it be applied onto the tile,the floor or both? and how long i should not use the under floor heating for after tiling? (i think somebody said a month, maybe the underfloor heating company, is this correct??). Also should i buy ready mixed adhesive or not?

Thanks

Pete.

You will need to ( in my humble opinion ) lay a decoupling membrane to tile to once the screed has cured, ( unless using a green screed adhesive ) how long has it been down, has the heating been commissioned, slowly up and then down, in any case, a good flexible rapid set adhesive to fix the membrane and then tile to membrane

EDIT just re-read your post, if it's your first job, it is a project and maybe go with a standard set adhesive for longer working time, have you thought about getting a pro in, those tiles aren't easy by any stretch of the imagination.

Last edited:
F

Fred

Concrete screed-how long has it been down over the UFH?

I always use flexi-powder adhesive with porcelian. Plus flexi grout.

Apply to the floor-follow the makers recommandation if the floor needs sealing with that particuliar adhesive. If the tile-in this case polcelian has indents in the base, skim with adhesive as well. It all depends if the floor is very level to which depth trowel you use.

As to the UFH, and in that case the adhesive, follow the makers instructions as to when or how you turn it on.

Oh yes, not bucket-ready mixed gear.

Sounds like, IMO, you need a professional tiler to do this job.

A

Azazel

Hi Alan and Fred,