Discuss Kitchen floor in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

B

brandon31

Hi all,

I am a newbie so be gentle.

I am in the process of completely renovating my kitchen house built approx
1950, It was in a real state when I purchased the house (discovered when
stripping it) and I am trying to do everything 100% no bodge jobs.

I have stripped everything out and have now hit a dilema which I am sure some
one with more knowledge with me may be able to help.

I have removed the horrible green (I think) ceramic tiles fitted by the
previous owner....all fixed pretty solid took some effort removing them.

Under the tiles was a layer of what I believe was adhesive, some a brownish
colour with a crumbly texture and some a black/grey colour with a more firm
texture.

Under this I have found what looks like some old red quarry tiles covering
most of the floor, another part was what looked like screed and another part
that is just sand and earth tiles straight over it!!!!!!! a bloody
mess!!!!!!

Some of the tiles sound solid some sound hollow.

I have been told I can just use a self leveling concrete screed over the top
of everything but I am not covinced as the sand/earth section is very soft and
crumbly.

Can anyone advise on the best way of making this floor a more solid secure
floor ready for my new ceramic tiles?

As I have stripped everything back to brick etc I want to do everything to
the best finish now.

I appreciate any advice greatly

Cheers

B

brandon31

Hi Guys.

Appreciate all the replies but I just wanted a bit of and idea before I decide what to do so I know what to listen out for from experts.

As we all know everyone who comes to quote is an expert, but not everyone is so if I have some idea I can avoid the cowboys. Also here are some pics

DSCF0042.jpg DSCF0039.jpg DSCF0043.jpg

R

Rich

Thanks for the pics (although my computer wont let me see them), you seem to have your head screwed on.