UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Knee pads, wear them ! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

G

Gazzer

I have been tiling now for over 33 years and I have tried lots of kneepads from the cheap inserts up to The Alpro pads available from Tradetiler. I have used old sponge to kneel on and even rolled up cement bags to keep my knees of damp sand and cement screed in the years gone by.
My dad who was and still is tiling at the age of 72 would always shout at me for not using kneepads so it soon became second nature to have something beneath my knees.
Now back in the late 70`s and early 80`s, health and safety wasn’t so important so it seemed. Kneepads at that time were usually home made from such items as cushions from old sofas and chairs or even car tyres cut up and held on with string.
The 1st set of kneepads I had were made of heavy leather and leather buckle straps. Not only did they fall down around my ankles all the time, they were bulky and not that comfy. I guess they were better than nothing though.
As the years passed we were using some soft rubber kneepads with rubber straps that broke often due to having to keep the straps so tight. Nice and lightweight and nice to kneel on but they wore quite quickly due to their soft nature.
Then there were some similar types but they had a hard face to the pad, which sounded good, but when knelt on had a tendency to slide. Sometimes even mark the tiles.
Garden kneelers, the pad type were popular at one time. Being so cheap you could have six pads and scatter them about the floor in area you were working. No excuse then for kneeling on the cold wet floor.