Guest viewing is limited
  • Thread starter steve.martin
  • Start date
  • Replies 23
  • Views 2K
  • Tags
    usa

Discuss My names steve but all my friends call me yetti in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

steve.martin

i am not a pro tiler but a keen D.I.Yer but like everyone here i am keen to learn been referbing the bathroom and come to the same problem as many others it seems tiling on green chipboard having looked at the responses to other people questions i am still confused as some say ok others no it appears i need to consider
a)is the floor solid ?
b)is there heating of any kind under the floor ? as apparently this heat can soften the wax treatment in green chipboard and thus laminate your tiles
c) the correct adheasive ? needs to be flexible and so possibly does the grout (bal spf) as anyone tried the new unibond tile on timber
d)luck ? as some have had no trouble and some have had nightmares

personally i think iam going to try a test tile as im not in a major rush as we have a second toilet and shower

macten

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Nottingham
Hi Steve,

Pro tilers wouldn't tile to it. If you went ahead it doesn't necessarily mean it will fail but if it did and we asked you for the spec we would tell you the substrate is at fault so why risk it.
I do lots of bathroom floors and most of the modern builds have this. I secure the chipboard into the joists at regular intervals until it is as solid as can be. I then glue and screw 6mm cement board down (I use NoMorePly) and then solid bed fix the tiles using a single part flexi bagged cement adhesive and flexi grout, my personal choice would be Mapei keraquick and their ultra colour grout range. (If raising height of floor isn't an issue then you could use 18mm WBP ply which will cost about the same as NMP.
Personally I wouldn't touch the unibond stuff and most on here wouldn't either.