Discuss opening up mosaics in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

A

Aston

cheers neale ;0)

on pic 3, you can see that the grout line opens the more acute the radius becomes so this is a good example of what i am asking...

so, should i aim for tapererd 'voissour' cuts in order to keep the grout lines straight when the circle becomes very small.. that way i avoid triangular grout lines..

its easier to keep everything uniform when the circle is big, its when the circles get really small that concerns me most..

Last edited by a moderator:
T

The D

I am no expert on the subject. In my mind there is no set way of doing it. If you can keep your joints in line around a curve you are a better man than me. I just mess about with it really I don’t do to many jobs for the rich and famous and it is not my day to day job so I think going with DPF advice will be your best bet. It would be nice of him if he could put up some pics of a curve with straight joints.

A

Aston

deano, that mannequin is excellent mate!
see what you mean about open to interpretation on the artisitic design front..they way you've done the bra looks excellent.

you know iv'e been meaning to really concentrate on the mosaics for a while now so iv'e got a lot of info now to set me off in the right direction. its just understanding the fundamentals i suppose, once youv'e got that sorted your off. thanks for posting up the pics, your daughters have taught you well mate ;0)

D

Diamond Pool Finishers

I am no expert on the subject. In my mind there is no set way of doing it. If you can keep your joints in line around a curve you are a better man than me. I just mess about with it really I don’t do to many jobs for the rich and famous and it is not my day to day job so I think going with DPF advice will be your best bet. It would be nice of him if he could put up some pics of a curve with straight joints.