Discuss Pricing Method in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Sean Kelly

TF
Arms
Ruislip
Smudger you are probably a sole trader. If so, then you are not VAT registered & you should not be adding VAT onto customers bills. I am a sole trader and if my day rate is £150 then that is what the customer pays (i.e. no VAT). When I buy materials/tools etc I pay VAT on my purchases. At the end of the year I deduct the cost of all the materials/tools/petrol costs & running costs of my business from my labour charges. The end result is my profit. When I submit my TAX returns, the Inland Revenue will work out what TAX I should pay.

If you are not a sole trader then you will need to call the Inland Revenue and tell them your circumstances.

I went on a half day (free) business course run by the Inland Revenue. They will answer all your questions and tell you how you should complete tax return etc.

It really is quite simple, and definitely nothing to worry about. Maybe you could look up the term ‘sole trader’ on the internet.

So for the moment please don’t worry about VAT. Just keep things simple for now.

Now to answer your original post………………..I’m based in West London and I’m still on the £150-£160 a day rate, and that’s based on a very long day.

Good luck.
Sean

S

Stewart

Smudger you are probably a sole trader. If so, then you are not VAT registered & you should not be adding VAT onto customers bills. I am a sole trader and if my day rate is £150 then that is what the customer pays (i.e. no VAT). When I buy materials/tools etc I pay VAT on my purchases. At the end of the year I deduct the cost of all the materials/tools/petrol costs & running costs of my business from my labour charges. The end result is my profit. When I submit my TAX returns, the Inland Revenue will work out what TAX I should pay.

If you are not a sole trader then you will need to call the Inland Revenue and tell them your circumstances.