Discuss Renovating the bathroom -- please advise-- in the Bathroom Tiling Advice area at TilersForums.com.

E

elatechi

Hi all,

I have been reading a lot of posts and I would like to congratulate everyone for such a great way of sharing knowledge.

I'm a complete newbie so please bear with me.

I am renovating the bathroom and putting a new concealed shower/bath then planning to tile the whole room. I've started but taking everything off and spent the last weekend taking off the old tiles (floor and walls).

In the process the plasterboards around the bath (wet area) were damaged so I decided to replace with Marmox 12.5 as it would also act as insulation (big wall being an outside wall) and would save me time in tanking.

the remaining walls are painted so I will need to tackle the paint either by sanding down or get a steamer , then use a primer (http://www.bal-adhesives.co.uk/products/bond-sbrbond SBR).

The floor is a cheapwood board (green one) so planning to cover with 6 mm marmox and install a UFH.

Could someone please help with the below questions?

1- After ripping off the dot and dabbed plasterboards, the adhesive still well glued to the wall. Can I just dot and dab again on the gaps and then use the washers and screw to the old dots?

2- Can I use the same adhesive to dot and dab and fix the tiles (floor and walls)? I am planning to use either Bal or Mapei Single part felxible adhesive.

3- What is the maximun time to wait for the primer before tiling on the ex-painted plasterboards?

4- I dont want to use a SLC for the UFH, can I just tile using the same adhesive?

finally, I noticed that the adhesives and grout are not water proof, only water resistent. Is there a better brand?

Thanks in advance and I do apologise for the long text and questions

M

[h=3][/h]

macten

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Nottingham
1. Remove old drywall adhesive (SDS drill/hammer will have it off in seconds) or hammer and bolster. Then screw boards to block work.