Discuss Right, what do you think about this then :) in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

F

Fekin

Hey guys, just been out to measure up and price for a job.

It's a full bathroom, en-suit, enclosed shower cubicle in one corner of the room, going to have toilet and basin, but they will be out of the room thankfully :)

The shower cubicle they want in mosaiq, they are ceramic stone effect 5cm x 5cm, 5mm deep, so they arn't fiddly little things, in all 7.3 sqm.

Surrounding bathroom walls and window etc they want using 33.3cm x 33.3cm ceramics, 5mm deep, all walls and cut ins work out at 17sqm.

The flooring is also the same ceramic 33.3cm x 33.3cm tiles as they are having on the walls, and flooring comes to 3.4sqm.
Floor is simple floor boards, so I need to ply that out too.
They also have a strip of underfloor heating mat, the heating mat is 6.5 meter x 0.5 meter.

I have never done underfloor heating before, so any advise on that would be good, like can it be cut to size or what have you ?

All walls are simple stud, but the boards don't look in a brilliant condition really, there are small holes here and there nearly fist size and still obviously have quite a bit of old tile adhesive stuck too them, some bits you can prise off and mostly the rest you can't.

Around half or more of the walls have had a light skim of plaster then painted, so Im my view I think the whole room could do with being dot n babbed with new boards first as I couldn't be sure the original boards that have the old adhesive left on them will hold these larger tiles, even more so with the painted walls.

Also this will give me a well nice backing to tile straight onto with no worries about them comming away from the walls.

On top of this they want to use mosaiqs as a border going all the way around the room at a certain height aswell to break it all up so that roughly a 10-12 cm strip of them all the way around, so the sqm of mosaiq will be a bit higher than the shower cubicle.