Discuss Self assessment...... in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

R

RDTiling

Morning all.

Do any of you use any software for working out your end of year tax returns etc? If so do you have any recommendations on whether one is better than the other?

im currently keeping track of my earnings in excel but I've heard that some software pretty much works everything out for you meaning you only need to submit the 'bottom line' numbers to HMRC.

I wasn't quite sure where to post this, so apologies if this is in the wrong forum.

Thanks,
Rich

Chalker

TF
Arms
Tadcaster
I'm a sole trader.
i used to get all stressed doing all the book work myself , including the vat.
i now pay £50 a month, £ 80 at a vat quarter and £200 year end. Takes all the stress away.
all I do is quoting, billing and on the 20th of every month put all relevant paperwork, invoices amd receipts in a folder and drop off.

the vat alone used to take a full day every quarter.

most on here would say don't let builders do tiling. Then don't delegate the accounts to a professional!

Chalker

TF
Arms
Tadcaster
in my first year I should be fine as I don't expect much to come in... will have to see how year 2 goes lol
Unfortunatly mate, you will still have to submit self assessment.
Dont worry about not making enough to pay tax.if you don't ,make much you won't pay any, but if you have made a bit, you will have some expenditure to offset this.Having accounts in the future will make it easier to raise finance if you need it when you start properly.

M

Mr Tiler

Unfortunatly mate, you will still have to submit self assessment.
Dont worry about not making enough to pay tax.if you don't ,make much you won't pay any, but if you have made a bit, you will have some expenditure to offset this.Having accounts in the future will make it easier to raise finance if you need it when you start properly.