UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Shower Floor Revamp in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

G

gb3

Hi there,

My first post on here :)

Let me start by saying I'm not a professional tradesman of any kind but a mere keen DIYer.

I moved into a new place a couple of years ago. The bathroom was a stated and needed gutting / re plastering / tiling etc etc. A local plumbing company did the work for us.

As you should be able to see from the pictures we had a walk in shower constructed.

Recently however I noticed the grout in the shower floor area was breaking up. I believe - correct me if im wrong - this is due to a cement based grout rather than a more suitable epoxy grout being used?

I was originally going to just regrout the existing tiles in the shower area with kerapoxy, however I thought to myself this might be an ideal time for a little revamp.

So my question is:

Can I take up the porcelin tiles just in the shower area ( just the ones with the diagonal cuts, which i think are ugly as hell) and replace them with a blue mosaic which matches the mosiac running down the wall. I think it'll look pretty cool ( but thats just me). I was hoping aswell that using a mosaic I would avoid making diagonal cuts to match the sloping of the blue tray underneath. (The existing tiles are tile directly onto a sloped underfloor tray).

If I can do the above...is there an epoxy grout anyone can recommend for use with ceramic mosiac.

Cheers, any tips / advice appreciated. :)

photo.JPG photo (1).JPG

G

Gazzer

I would say the tiling was done all wrong in the 1st place. The grout should have been fine and there is no real need for Epoxy....but it can be used.
The setting out on the floor is worse than poor and that is what makes it all look worse.