Guest viewing is limited

Discuss So newbie and so in need of guidance! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

D

devilsprofessor

Hi All!

Complete, never tiled in my life, newbie here! But, I'm up for giving it a go.

I want to file the floor in my kitchen, which is linked to my dining room with an arch way and is at the most a grand total of 2m sq. This includes the space under my fridge, dish washer and washing machine.

I live in a brand new house. The floor is concrete and I'm pretty hopful it's pretty flat.

I've googled loads but I can't find a guide that answers all my points. I get the bits on putting adhesive on the floor, spacers, checking where I'm putting them but could someone help me with the following;

- How do I prepare the floor?
- Do I grout the space between the tile and the skirting board/kick board/cupboard? Or so I use silicone.
- As it's a kitchen am I best sealing the whole floor - will it be water proof if my washing machine ever dies?
- Any advice on what to do at the threshold of the archway leading to the dining room. It currently leads onto bamboo floor.

Thanks in advance - I cannot wait to get going! :drool5:

Hi and :welcome:.

Hi All!

Complete, never tiled in my life, newbie here! But, I'm up for giving it a go.

I want to file the floor in my kitchen, which is linked to my dining room with an arch way and is at the most a grand total of 2m sq.
This includes the space under my fridge, dish washer and washing machine.

You sure bearing in mind the fridge, dishwasher and washing machine is about 1.5m2 in total, that doesn't leave you much floor space to walk around in:lol:

I live in a brand new house. The floor is concrete and I'm pretty hopful it's pretty flat.

I've googled loads but I can't find a guide that answers all my points. I get the bits on putting adhesive on the floor, spacers, checking where I'm putting them but could someone help me with the following;