UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Tiling on to chipboard flooring in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

R

richardbell81

Hello,

I'm a newbie here as i'm currently doing up our first house on a budget! I was wondering if you could give me some much needed advice and suggest some suitable BAL products? I'm narrowing it down to BAL as they come highly recommended! Here goes...

I'm about to tile a small bathroom floor (2.2 m2 floor space) with 300x600mm porcelain tiles (10mm thick). The house is a well built victorian mid terrace but we had to remove the old floor boards in the bathroom as some of the boards underneath the bath had rotted due to a leak around the shower end of the bath caused by the previous owners. I replaced all the floor boards with 'Waterproof treated Tongue & Groove Chipboard Flooring (18mm)' and screwed these down to the original joists as they had not been affected by the leak.

Basically, I was wondering what products you would recommend for priming the chipboard then fixing and grouting the tiles? I had planned to tile straight on to the chipboard using 'BAL Single Part Fast Flex' but was not sure what primer to use directly on the chipboard, or what grout would be most suitable?

Firstly, would you recommend using the 'BAL Single Part Fast Flex' for this job and if so what primer and grout would work best with this?

N.B. If possible, I would like to avoid over boarding the chipboard with ply as the height of the toilet soil pipe and sink is now fixed. If you would strongly advise to overboard with ply then please let me know but I could only use a 6mm thick ply at most as anything thicker would cause the toilet outlet and soil pipe to miss align (plus the sink would start to become noticeably low!)

Many thanks in advance,
Rich

R

richardbell81