Discuss Tips For Siliconing in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Wishiwasatoptiler

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Northeast
Small garden spray bottle with a drop of washing up liquid, fill with water. Apply silicone . I.e. along bath top, lightly spray over with water mix, then either profiler tool or damp finger. Bob's ya uncle, fannys ya ant. Smooth Finish. (Not sure why bob came to mind) lol. ☺☺☺ plus it only sticks where you want it...

I

Ian

A huge part of siliconing is the initial application, don't apply a stinking great bead if you only want 6mm, it'll end up everywhere, just cut a small taper in the end of the nozzle. I've been using profiling tools for around 5 years now and would be lost without them but, I've always struggled to get a nice clean join where 3 lines meet. I find that it's best (for me any way!) to do all the verticals first and let them set up for half an hour or so then do the horizontals, a lollipop stick is very handy for getting right into the corners as well. Soapy spray has never really worked for me so it's not something I do, just get that initial application right, and whichever way you go from there will leave a great result with practice. Try a few things out to see what works for you.

John Benton

TF
Arms
Leeds
Nearly always use the profiling tools, and when I'm going where 3 joints meet I always do one of the lines into the corner the night before, especially when its 2 colours meeting. That way when I seal the other two lines meeting up there's no chance of any dragging or mixing of the other colour.

J

J Sid

Personal I don't think you can beat one of these
wp_ss_20151221_0002.png

P

p4ulo