Discuss Wall Boarding Advice in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Hi all,

Thanks for reading..

I'm about to board my full bathroom having removed previous tiles and chipped back to base plaster.

What's the best board to use for the wet areas and what's the best board to use for the rest (some will also be tiled)

Also, I don't really want to baton out, so am I okay to install with Pink Grip?

And advice on boards, technique, etc would be appreciated.

Also, I'm looking for something I don't need to skim prior to painting...

Not a complete novice (have boarded and plastered many times before - just not in a bathroom).

Thabks in advance!

magga

TF
Nottingham
You can use Hardiebacker without batons, following these steps:

1. Ensure wall is sound, clean and dry and ready to receive HardieBacker®

• The rear of HardieBacker® must be wiped down to remove dust.

• All existing old dry lining should be removed as it has the potential

to fail further.

2. Use a high strength gap filling adhesive
    • Place 3 vertical 10-12mm beads of high strength, single part, gap filling cartridge adhesive, evenly down the back of the board.

• Press board rmly against the wall into the desired position.

3. Fasten HardieBacker® 6mm with masonry anchors
      • Fasten HardieBacker® with 9 (6mm x 60mm) stainless steel screws into brown wall plugs. Screws should remain 100mm from the top and bottom edges and 50mm from the left and right edges. Ensure min 50mm embedment into the wall.

• Do not overdrive the screw; it must be ush with the face of the HardieBacker®.

4. Tape joints prior to tiling
• Prior to setting the tiles, embed 50mm alkaline resistant Fibatape across joints and feather tile adhesive to leave a 150mm wide joint.

You say remove to plaster base, I take it it's not back to the brickwork ?
That's right. I took the skim coat off as it was a complete mess after removing previous tiles. The wall beneath is better, but powdery and not 100% straight.