Discuss Waterproof adhesive / Tanking?? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

Jane S

Hi all,

I am hoping someone can offer me their advice?!

My husband and I are currently renovating our house and we are now at the stage where every wall and ceiling has been plastered (phew finally). Over the next few weeks we will be fitting and tiling our corner shower cubical (tiling floor to ceiling inside the shower cubical only) on newly plastered bathroom walls.

My question is, if we use waterproof adhesive to stick the tiles do we still need to tank the shower area with a shower waterproofing kit (Dunlop??) or will waterproof tile adhesive be sufficient on its own? We were going to just use waterproof adhesive but when I started to look up tips on tiling a few posts mentioned tanking. I cant work out whether I can use the shower waterproofing kit on walls that have been plastered?! Sorry if that sounds silly… I am a newbie at DIY.

Any advise you can offer would be much appreciated!

Thanks v much!

Jane

D

davemul

Jane its just as easy to use as tubbed.. just requires mixing. If your husband has a drill, then a simple drill mixer bit from screwfix for about £7 will do the job

the packets have mixing instructions on them. Just get the water/powder ratio correct and all will be fine

It will be water in bucket first, then add powder and mix slowly till a lump free paste. Then leave for 5 mins. Give another slow mix and youre ready to use

I was dubious at first but its as easy as peas now!

tubbed adhesive relies on water to evaporate to dry

powdered adhesive is cement based, so MUCH more reliable and quicker to set

Mapei keraflex is what I use its so easy to apply

good luck!

Last edited by a moderator:
T

TheWrightTiler