UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Advice needed please! Stone, plaster, block in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

A

Alexyz

Hello all, I'd really appreciate some advice about my bathroom. What was meant to be a simple job only gets bigger and bigger...

About me:
I have little experience but I have been on the phone to my DIY-mad Dad a lot for advice, but it seems I could now really do with the advice of the experts. I would now pay an expert to finish it for me if I could afford it, but I can't afford it, and I enjoy learning about construction this way anyway because I worked in the industry on the office side of things (though unemployed at the mo due to recession).

About my bathroom:

The bathroom was tiled in thin ceramic mosaic before. I have removed the mosaics because the stone supplier told me the weight may be too much for the stone (400x400x10mm slate). I perhaps wrongly assumed that the supplier meant that if I removed the old tiles the weight would be fine...

So I removed the old tiles. Where the plaster beneath sounded hollow I did as Dad advised by taking off the old finishing plaster, applied PVA:water 1:3 mix, and replastered myself (which was stressful as the wall dried the plaster out so quickly making it really hard to work).

However, after some online research I read that plaster substrate isn't recommended for 10mm stone tiles. Oops!

Do I really have to rip off the plaster? :sad3: I really need a bath!!!

Please see my pictures and my notes:
-A, B and C show the walls I'm wanting to tile, A and B with the finishing plaster replaced and the third wall C with some small gaps still there. All are solid walls, most probably blockwork.