Discuss Advice on a poor job in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

L

lasors

Hello all,
My in-laws are currently having their bathroom refitted (first floor) and having done my own bathroom and a friend's, taking lots of advice from posts on this forum, I would say I have a reasonable grasp of what constitutes a 'proper' job, and have noticed several issues which I am worried for them over. The job has not finished, this is week 3.

As far as I know the installer is a plumber by trade and while there is nothing wrong with his pipe work his tiling is garbage. They are upset that the work isn't better. They are happy to pay a premium for quality materials, and this tradesman was recommended by a neighbour. Maybe their standards are not as high, or maybe it's just ignorance?

There is a walk in shower with wet-room type tiled floor and free standing bath. A preformed floor tray has been used to form the fall to a centre drain. Shower wall area is tiled floor to near ceiling with glass screen divide and the rest of the room is t&g panels with painted walls above.

The walls are normal plasterboard not MR. No tanking of any kind has been used on the walls. As far as I know no tanking has been used in conjunction with the tray. There is grout in the corners not silicone. The wall and floor tiles have way less than full tile to adhesive contact, there are noticeable voids but some has now been grouted so this is now hidden. The setting out is poor such that there are differences in grout line widths from near nil to 6 or 7mm. There's lots of lipping. There are areas laid in the wrong order so they are now converging from two directions and won't meet up square or to pattern. The cutting in is poor, particularly where the tiles (100x100) have been cut on the diagonal to fall to the tray. I will post a photo when I figure out how.