Discuss Template for cutting floor tile around toilet in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

hi
having read all posts on this thread then its each to their own. i was trained with nips and wasnt even allowed a wetcutter until i could nip a curve. ive been doing it that way for 5 years and only now am i getting confident with using my eye to gauge where i can start from without taking off to much. i always leave a bit extra on and will put the cut up to the toilet and run my pencil around it to then nip off for a nice tight finish. it has taken me time to get quick at it and sometimes i do break the odd tile which can be really annoying especially if its right near the end,im sure we've all been there.
Try some of the ways given and find what your comfortable with and over time you'll get quicker at it.
Good luck

D

DHTiling

OK sometimes mickey taking can be taken the wrong way.

First off, I never intended any insult to Phil Hobson and apologise unreservedly for any offence given. Furthermore, I have read many of Phil’s responses on a wide range of tiling matters and fully respect his expertise based on what I have seen him post.

Secondly I don’t understand what trolling is.

Thirdly, if I make any comments that start strong responses, I stop posting on that thread – I don’t see this or any other forum as a platform for arguing – I see them as a useful resource for everyone interested in that topic.

Fourth and last is the question of what is right or wrong, good or bad in tiling is often a matter of opinion and nothing more. Dave and other admin/moderators are right to intervene if you think something goes beyond the aims and objectives of the forum – there is no intention from me to undermine this forum and I apologise if I have caused an either real or apparent problem in my posting – that was not my intent.