Discuss Advice needed please! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

Thatch

Hi all

I'm fairly new to the tiling trade...doing ok at the moment, done courses and got qualifications etc after being laid off in January from my old job.

My question is this.....when tiling a fairly (almost) flat surface, why do I seem to get lipping on a larger format tile (310mm x 550mm). I'll do a row of say four or five tiles all nice and flat then the next will be lipping at different points...is it a case of judgement? It's time consuming keep having to remove the tile and add or take some adhesive off the tile or wall! Like I say, i'm new to this and when things get frustrating while tiling it kinda knocks my confidence a bit!

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!!

Andy Allen

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Gloucester
when using large format tiles, put the face of the tile together and see if there bowed, this is becoming more common now the the market is becoming flooded with cheap imports, if they are bowed then it makes tiling brick bond a nightmare, so suggest to the customer stright bond or replacing the tiles, and always check your subtrate for flatness, what looks flat might not always be the case, i check every job with a stright edge when im quoting, that way i can show the customer if any prep work is needed prior to tiling.

D

DHTiling

try using a larger trowel, maybe the walls aren't as good as you think. try holding a tile on the wall (dry) in different places and see if it rocks. and as already said the tiles may be bowed

If the tiles are not bowed then this is your best option.. use a deeper trowel to cope with deviations...
Best way is to use a 2 mtr straight edge and check for dips in the wall.. fill any in to bring back flat with adhesive.. any bumps.. try to flatten them back..

M

Mike