Discuss Shower from hell in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

G

gixer

Hi all newbie here so take it easy on me :smilewinkgrin:

Ok so just ripped out an existing shower , it had recentlystarted leaking through to downstairs . Originally done by a " proper " tiler , so thought to myself , with the right advice , i think i could do a better job myself .
This is were you guys come in :thumbsup:
I will try and stage my questions as work progresses rather than bombard everyone with 101 questions right at the start .
So to start the floor needs re-tiled , slight bit of water damage on existing chipboard floor .
Am i better to lift and replace whole floor with WBP ply and treat the ply with Bal bond SBR ? bathroom pics 001.jpg bathroom pics 002.jpg

I have attached a couple of pics which i hope will help

Many thanks Gixer

G

gixer

Many thanks for the informative replies guys , whilst waiting for my first post to activate i went ahead and started to lift a small portion of the floor to aid the drying out process bathroom pics 003.jpg bathroom pics 004.jpg bathroom pics 005.jpg As you can see the old shower made quite a mess .

So to recap next step lift entire floor (as chipboard should probably never been used in a shower room in the first place) replace with 18mm wbp ply , treat underside and edges with Bal bond sbr , then some 6mm hardieback board stuck on top of the ply with tile adhesive and screwed .....
Now i have exposed the joists do i still need extra noggins ???

Thanks again Gixer

Last edited by a moderator:
G

gixer

Ok guys , so i have my new ply screwed down and primed underside and edges .
Do i need to apply SBR primer to topside of ply before putting my cement board down ?